Data sources

When you insert a list or chart from an Odoo list or chart view into an Odoo spreadsheet, or insert a pivot table referencing Odoo data from an Odoo pivot view or directly from a spreadsheet, the spreadsheet is automatically connected to the underlying data thanks to a unique ‘data source.’

This connection ensures that the data in the spreadsheet is updated when the corresponding data in your database changes, and allows you to access the underlying data.

Note

  • Data in a list, pivot table, or chart linked to an Odoo model is refreshed every time the spreadsheet is opened or the browser page is reloaded. It is also possible to manually refresh data by clicking Data ‣ Refresh all data from the menu bar.

  • Inserting a pivot table from a range of data also creates a data source that connects the pivot table to the underlying spreadsheet range.

Each data source is identified by a unique ID, with each source type (i.e., list, pivot table, or chart) numbered separately, and each new list, pivot table, or chart numbered sequentially, e.g., List #1, List #2, Pivot #1, etc.

The properties of a data source can be accessed via the Data menu, where they are grouped by source type, and then listed in ascending order by source ID. The name of the data source is displayed, e.g., (#1) Sales Analysis by Product.

Clicking on a data source opens the related properties in a panel on the right of the spreadsheet.

Note

Deleting an inserted list or pivot table, or deleting the sheet into which it was inserted, does not delete the underlying data source; this can be done via the data source’s properties. Unused data sources from inserted lists or pivot tables can also be deleted via the Data cleanup feature. Deleting an inserted chart deletes its underlying data source.

Tip

  • The properties panel can also be opened by right-clicking any cell of an inserted list or pivot table, then clicking See list properties or See pivot properties, or by clicking the (menu) icon at the top right of an inserted chart, then clicking Edit.

  • Once the properties of a specific data source are open, they remain open even when navigating between spreadsheet tabs. To close the properties panel, click the (close) icon at the top right of the panel.

  • To collapse the properties panel, click the (double chevron) icon at the top of the panel.

  • To pin the properties panel and allow another panel, such as the global filters panel, to open beside it, click View ‣ Pin the side panel from the menu bar. To unpin a panel, click the (pin) icon at the top right of the panel.

Identify and delete unused data sources

To identify and delete unused data sources, i.e., data sources that are still connected to the spreadsheet but where the data has been deleted, follow these steps:

  1. Click Data ‣ Data cleanup ‣ Remove unused data sources from the menu bar. The Unused data sources panel opens to the right of the spreadsheet. Unused pivot tables and unused lists are displayed in their respective sections.

  2. Optionally, unselect any data sources that should not be deleted, then click Delete selected items.

Access underlying data

The underlying data of an inserted list, pivot table, or chart can be accessed at any time. To view:

  • an individual record of an inserted list, right-click any cell of the relevant row, then select See record

  • a list of records referenced by an individual cell of an inserted pivot table, right-click the cell, then select See records

  • a list of records represented by a data point of an inserted chart, click the data point.

Tip

Use the middle mouse button or Ctrl + left-click (Microsoft/Linux), or Command + left-click (Mac OS) to open the results in a new browser tab.

To return to the spreadsheet after viewing the underlying data, click the name of the spreadsheet in the breadcrumbs at the top of the page.