This question has been flagged

I am new to Odoo and have been exploring it's potential for use in our manufacturing business. Unfortunately I started researching under version 13 only about a few weeks before version 14 came out (along with the many major improvements/changes to MRP), so there are new things for me to learn.

I see how Operations is now a tab under the BOM. When adding an operation, it appears that you simply type in text (create one unique to that BOM) and then select a predefined work center. Both the operation and work center are required. 

What I don't understand is why the Operation isn't a drop down menu. It would seem that you should set up the standard operations under Configuration and then when you add operations to specific BOMs it would reference that list. That is how the work centers appears to work. I don't understand the purpose of even having operations under Configuration if you have to manually type them in each time to a BOM.

Adding operations is now so flexible that it is cumbersome! Am I missing something in how this is supposed to work in V14? 

Discard

In Odoo 15 it's possible to copy an existing operation

Best Answer

It is possible to customize Odoo and not that complicated to provide a way to copy an existing Operation:

1. Create a Custom Field to link an Operation to another Operation:

2. Create a Custom Field that will "listen" for Users selecting an Operation and will "copy" the information:

for record in self:
if record.x_existing_op_id:
existing_op = record.x_existing_op_id
record['name'] = existing_op.name
record['workcenter_id'] = existing_op.workcenter_id.id
record['worksheet_type'] = existing_op.worksheet_type
record['note'] = existing_op.note
record['time_mode'] = existing_op.time_mode
record['time_cycle_manual'] = existing_op.time_cycle_manual
record['time_mode_batch'] = existing_op.time_mode_batch

3. Add the two fields to the User Interface with a Custom View:

<field name="name" position="replace">