This question has been flagged
4 Replies

Hello, Im new to Odoo Studio and Im trying to figure out how to add the Customer name from a Sales order to a Manufacturing Order.  Does anyone have an online example or an explanation they can share to point me in the right direction?

Discard

How are you creating the manufacturing order?

Author

The manufacturing orders are created at confirmation of the Sales Order.

Are they generated by reordering rules or the Replenish on Order (MTO) route?

Author

Hi Lucas. They are generated with Replenish On Order (MTO).

I have a solution for you, I will post the answer here

Author

Awesome. Thank you for your help.

Best Answer

When you confirm a sales order that contains a product with the MTO Route, then the 'Source' field on the 'Miscellaneous' tab on the manufacturing order will contain the Sales Order number as a text field.

We can use this to create a firm link between the Sales Order and Manufacturing Order.

Firstly, open Studio on the Manufacturing Order and add a 'Many2One' field that is linked to the 'Sales Order' model.

Secondly, create an automated action with the following settings:

- Model: Production Order

- Action To Do: Update the Record

- Trigger: On Creation

- Field: (Select the custom Many2One field that is linked to the sales order model)

- Evaluation Type: Python Expression

- Value: record.env['sale.order'].search([('name','=',record.origin)])

Thirdly, Add a Related Field on the Manufacturing Order using Studio. Use the path Sales Order > Customer > Display Name

Now, when a Sales Order is confirmed the Manufacturing Order that is generated will be formally linked to the Sales Order and the related field will pull through the customer name from that Sales Order. You can also add more related fields to pull any other fields from the SO, e.g. customer phone number etc.

Please let me know if this works for you

Discard
Author

Thank you so much. I will give it a try and let you know.

Author