This question has been flagged
2 Replies

I know the question have been raised several times; however no definitive answer seems to have been brought!

I checked - more than once - that my journal are setup with the authorization to cancel" entries.

Still, a "severe" popup asks to authorize first!

At least one other user faced this issue (user de clarens).

Where is it possible to read a definive answer on this within the official documentation?

Discard
Best Answer

Firstly you should never be able to cancel a confirmed journal entry - this goes against good accounting practice and standard OpenERP does not allow it. There may be a community module that does it - you would need to find.

If you want to check journals before they are posted, set the journal - Skip 'Draft' State for Manual Entries - to false.

Discard
Author

Thanks Kevin for your profesionnal advice; I am an accountant and I agree. However, under specific circumstances the cancellation can be necessary. It is my case because I misunderstood how OE setup default debit & credit for accounting journals is functionning.

And now I am in a "corner" because I am using the Saas for OE where I can not add community modules.

Author

Finally, I found the button which enables the cancellation of an accounting entry -one by one. Select an accounting entry for cancellation, then select the little arrow next to the entry reference number or code; this opens the accountig entry itself; the click on the grey top left button ; the entry is then set to draft; make corrections if any and confirm/save; or delete the entry.

Best Answer

I also agree that as a good accounting practices we should not cancell entries, but, in fact sometimes we really ned to cancell the posted entries.