This question has been flagged
1 Reply

I have installed using Ubuntu 12.04. Have upgraded to 13.04 but no automatic upgrade for openerp. The repository still has openerp 6.1. I need simple instructions to follow. I am a newbie. I have no experience of postgresql, openerp and so little python.

I have tried to download the tar.gz, but cannot extract the files from it, a problem I have never had before.

I have tried to download the .deb file but installing this seems to have no affect whatsoever.

I can see the openerp folder but nothing inside it is visible. (I'm not logged in as the openerp user)

I know what I need to do but not how to do it.

Discard

are you already running your business in OpenERP? or you just need to try OpenERP 7?

Author

I just need to try it. Loading 6.1 via the Ubuntu install was the only way I could get 6.1 to run. The pdfs did not work (just error messages) The export did not work (just error messages) I was hoping that 7.0 was better, but all the chat on the forums seems to be programmer to programmer, I have been unable to get any method of upgrading to 7.0 to work. I saw one chap suggest that the next step was to download all the source code. Why, I don't know. Another suggested the clonezilla route. Sounded fine until I saw the Clonezilla website, not for me.

You say that the repository is still on 6.1. Do you use Ubuntu desktop or server? In both cases you can change / add a repository, so you download the latest version of openERP.I can help you with this part, when I am back in the office..

Author

That does sound a lot simpler. Is there anything special needed to update the database between 6.1 to 7.0 ?

Don't know. There are some differences regarding users (customers/suppliers/users). If there is hardly any data in the database, it is cleaner to just remove openERP 6.1 and than install openERP7. Check http://nightly.openerp.com/ how to add and install openERP7.

Best Answer

Install Bazaar and download the branches.