This question has been flagged
4 Replies

I'm new to OpenERP, and I've been trying to create a custom module. A trivial module with a single model works fine, but as soon as I try to add a second model (with a view), I get an "Invalid model name in the action definition" error on import.

I am using OpenERP 7.0-20130524-231019, installed using apt-get on a Ubuntu server.

If I comment out the view, the model will import fine, but the second model doesn't appear in to Model list, so I'm sure that the error is legit, but why isn't the second module actually being created?

My files are as follows:

__init__.py:

# -*- coding: utf-8 -*-
import dev

__openerp__.py:

# -*- coding: utf-8 -*-

{
    "name" : "Dev module",
    "version" : "0.1",
    "author" : "Dev",
    'complexity': "easy",
    "description" : """
This is a test
==============

This is only a test.
    """,
    "website" : "[a real URL]",
    "depends" : [],
    "category" : "Dev",
    "sequence": 16,
    "init_xml" : [],
    "demo_xml" : [],
    "update_xml" : ["dev_view.xml",],
    'test': [],
    'installable': True,
    'application': True,
    'active': False,
}

Here's the .py:

class dev_person(osv.Model):
    _name = "dev.person"
    _description = "Person"
    _columns = {
        'name': fields.char('Person Name', size=128, required=True),
        'properties': fields.one2many('dev.property', 'property_id', 'Properties'
    }

dev_person()

class dev_property(osv.Model):
    _name = "dev.property"
    _description = "Property"
    _columns = {
        'name': fields.char('Property Name', size=128, required=True),
        'property_id': fields.many2one('dev.person', 'Person Name', select=True),
    }

dev_property()

And dev_view.xml:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<openerp>
<data>

<record model="ir.actions.act_window" id="action_dev_person_form">
<field name="name">dev_person</field>
<field name="res_model">dev.person</field>
</record>