This question has been flagged
5 Replies

Hai Friends ,

I am new to OpenERP ,Once i realized the OpenERP feature start leaning . But some questions raised in my mind , Would you please clarify it .

1. From the forum , i can understand that Point Of Sale support only EAN13 Barcode Encoding Scanner & my Question - Is there any standard ( Brand Name ) Bar code Scanner available?

2. If i get Barcode Scanner with USB plugin , it is enough to make work (or) Is there any software to be installed to make work ?

3. Otherwise , Is there any apps ( modules ) available for barcode scanner work .

Right now i using OpenERP version 7.0 (community version ) .. Please give me suggestion .

Thanks & Regards

OMPRAKASH.A

Discard
Best Answer

In Openerp POS 7.0 don't click in search bar and then scan the product. it will added automatically in order. If you still want to search and add product from search bar then Download this module from launchpad: bzr branch lp:~mmakonnen/openobject-addons/point_of_sale_enhanced-70 and replace the default OpenERP module with it.

From the commit list of this module:

POS: When we hit [Enter] in the search box add the product with the matching product code

The previous commit only added the product if it was the only one

returned by the search. Now, it will search the list of matched products for one with the same exact product code as the search term. If it finds a match it will add it to the order.

Hope this help.

Discard
Best Answer

A USB barcode scanner literally is a keyboard of sorts. When you scan a code it just sends the code to the field where the cursor is.

You can even open something like Notepad, scan the code and it types it in.

In terms of scanners, just make sure you find one that is known to be reliable. We use Farsun laser hand scanners here.

Discard
Author

Hai Dave ellis , thanks for reply .. It make more useful for me .