This question has been flagged
1 Reply

We want to let clients sign in to our system and each see only the menu items, pages, and layout/theme that we have made for that particular client.

I've been following the theme tutorial here (http://odoo-80.readthedocs.org/en/latest/guides/themes.html) but I don't see how to choose the theme based on the user viewing the page. I'm still pretty new to Odoo. Any ideas?

Edit: I'm also trying to figure out how to apply a theme to specific areas (controllers or actions) of the odoo site. Any links to documentation or tutorials on this would be appreciated.

Discard

@Darrel, I think you would need to build a custom theme and use a combination of t-if statements and group access rights to achieve what you require. Could you post back with details on exactly what you are trying to achieve with examples of what you'd like to achieve (eg. custom pages only viewable by certain user groups). This will make it easier for people to offer you advice on how you might be able to achieve your requirements.

sure, Luke.

I work for an ecommerce company, and we have two specific goals
requiring custom themes.

a) We want to let ecommerce clients log into Odoo and view reports on
our services, which are branded to that client. And b) We want
multiple separate layouts for the frontend website and product list,
based on the domain the website is being served from.

I think I can implement a new theme for the frontend, by having a
module with templates which inherit web.assets_backend,
website.assets_frontend and 'layout.' What I'm having trouble figuring
out is how (or if) I can make that CSS and HTML dependent on the user
viewing the page, for a, and the domain the site is being accessed
from, for b.

If it helps, we can ignore b) for now, since I am still quite new to
Odoo and the answer may become clear in time.

I would appreciate any help you can provide. There's still a lot I