This question has been flagged
1 Reply

Hello everyone,

I am a SAP consultant, but have the feeling that Odoo could probably fulfill the business needs of many of the companies I have worked for, for much cheaper than SAP. However, regarding analytic accounting, what Odoo has to offer seems quite limited, to say the least (only tags in v9 ?)

For example, there are 2 very commonly used functionalities in SAP :

1. Cost allocation; that is the ability to automatically transfer costs from 1 analytic account to another (this is quite different from analytic distribution from Odoo v8). SAP is very efficient in letting the user define variable "keys" for such allocation (headcount, account balance the period, quantities in stock...).

This fubnctionality can be used to transfer common costs to complete costs for example.

2. Multi-dimensions; that is the ability to enter several distinct analytic accounts on the same posting (namely Business Area, Segment, Profit Center...)

3. Overheads; that is the ability to automatically calculate and post "overhead" costs on the basis of a percentage. OK this one is maybe less common in SAP, but I'm quite interested in it :-)

There are other "advanced" functionalities, like splitting, etc. but let's keep them for later...

So can someone explain me how any cost allocation can be done with Odoo apart from preparation in Excel and manual posting in Odoo analytic module ?

About multi dimensions analytic accounting, there is a promising looking 3rd party addon, but I haven't been able to test it yet :

https://bitbucket.org/xcg/analytic_structure

And about overheads, I just could not find anything out of product costing area.

Please express your views !

Discard
Best Answer

Costs can be allocated via Invoices.  On each invoice line you can enter the Analytic account (one dimension) that you want to book the expense into.