This question has been flagged
10 Replies

Hi All

I'm New In OpenERP And I Want To Know The Best Way To Debug My Code Using Eclipse

I Tried Many Methods Before That I Found On The Internet But Didn't Work

Please Any One Can Help Me , Told Me In Details Thanks A lot

Discard

Hello, Have you succeed debug the OpenERP Code . If please post the way

Best Answer

As this question has been asked over and over on this forum, here is a complete guide to Odoo development under Windows 7 (although it is very similiar under Windows 8, so you should be fine using this guide under that operating system). What will you need:

• A machine with Windows 7 installed on it
  • Internet connection
  • An hour of time to prepare your environment 

NOTE - This is a guide for Odoo v7 development under Windows, therefore it might, but not necessarily will work for v8 - there might be some dependencies problems.

To begin with, we need some software, to get our source code from. Since our software of choice to develop Odoo is Eclipse, we might take full advantage from this and integrate our GIT GUI there as well. 

Step 1 - Eclipse Configuration

First, you should download Eclipse - here you will be able to find version suitable for your system architecture - for the purpose of this guide, I will go with the x86 version. Once downloaded, you might try to run it - when you do this on a system, you have never tried to run Eclipse on, you might see a warning like on a screenshot below.

To fix that, click here to download Java SE Runtime Environment 7 version corresponding to your operating system version and install it as soon as it's downloaded. Installation should not be a problem, after that you should be able to start your Eclipse instance. Select your default workspace location and go to another step, which is Python installation and PyDev/EGit integration.