Toggle navigation

零售硬件设置

收银台(POSBox) 配置向导

先决条件

在开始设置您的POSBox之前, 确保你准备好了一切。 你会需要 :

  • POSBox

  • 2A电源适配器

  • 一台带最新的Web浏览器的计算机或平板电脑。

  • A running SaaS or Odoo database with the Point of Sale installed
  • 设置了DHCP(这是默认设置)的本地网络

  • 一台 Epson USB TM-T20 打印机或其他兼容的 ESC/POS 打印机 (官方的 POS 硬件支持列表)

  • 霍尼韦尔的Eclipse USB条码扫描仪或其他兼容的扫描仪

  • 爱普生兼容钱箱

  • An RJ45 Ethernet Cable (optional, Wi-Fi is built in)

一步一步的安装指南

POSBox的当前版本(2015年以来)

连接外围设备

官方支持的硬件列在POS硬件页<https ://www.odoo.com/page/pos-ipad-android-hardware>上 [UNKNOWN NODE problematic]_, 但其他硬件可能也能正常工作。

  • Printer: Connect an ESC/POS printer to a USB port and power it on.
  • Cash drawer: The cash drawer should be connected to the printer with an RJ25 cable.
  • Barcode scanner: Connect your barcode scanner. In order for your barcode scanner to be compatible it must behave as a keyboard and must be configured in US QWERTY. It also must end barcodes with an Enter character (keycode 28). This is most likely the default configuration of your barcode scanner.
  • Scale: Connect your scale and power it on.
  • Ethernet: If you do not wish to use Wi-Fi, plug in the Ethernet cable. Make sure this will connect the POSBox to the same network as your POS device.
  • Wi-Fi: The current version of the POSBox has Wi-Fi built in. Make sure not to plug in an Ethernet cable, because all Wi-Fi functionality will be bypassed when a wired network connection is available.

POSBox通电

将电源适配器插入POSBox, 红色的状态灯应该亮起。

确保POSBox已准备就绪

一旦供电, POSBox需要一段时间才能启动。一旦POSBox准备就绪, 就应该打印带IP地址的状态条。另外, LED状态指示灯, 旁边的红色电源指示灯应常亮绿色。

设置零售点

To setup the POSBox in the Point of Sale go to Point of Sale ‣ Configuration ‣ Point of Sale and select your Point of Sale. Scroll down to the PoSBox / Hardware Proxy section and activate the options for the hardware you want to use through the POSBox. Specifying the IP of the POSBox is recommended (it is printed on the receipt that gets printed after booting up the POSBox). When the IP is not specified the Point of Sale will attempt to find it on the local network.

If you are running multiple Point of Sale on the same POSBox, make sure that only one of them has Remote Scanning/Barcode Scanner activated.

如果在你的网络中固定POSBox的IP地址, 是个比较好的注意。请参阅您的路由器文档就如何实现这一目标。

启动销售点

如果没有在配置指定POSBox的IP地址, POS将需要一些时间来执行网络扫描来寻找POSBox。这种扫描只进行一次。

销售点已经连接到POSBox, 你的硬件应该可以使用。

Wi-Fi 配置

The most recent version of the POSBox has Wi-Fi built in. If you're using an older version you'll need a Linux compatible USB Wi-Fi adapter. Most commercially available Wi-Fi adapters are Linux compatible. Officially supported are Wi-Fi adapters with a Ralink 5370 chipset.

确保不要插以太网电缆插头, 因为当有线网络连接可用时所有Wi-Fi相关的功能将被禁用。

当POSBox使用Wi-Fi适配器启动时, 将以您可以连接到的被称为“Posbox" 的自己的Wi-Fi接入点开始。POSBox启动时的收据打印将反映这一点。为了使POSBox连接到已有的Wi-Fi网络, 转到POSBox的主页(在收据上已标明), 并进入Wi-Fi配置页面。在那里, 你可以选择网络连接。请注意, 我们只支持开放式和WPA(2)-PSK网络。当连接到一个WPA保护的网络, 填写密码字段。该POSBox将尝试连接到指定的网络, 连接后将打印新的POSBox状态条。

如果你打算永久设置POSBox 为Wi-Fi连接, 你可以在Wi-Fi配置页上选择复选框为“一直" 。这将在重新启动时网络选择一直选择WIFI。这意味着, 在启动后它将始终尝试连接到指定的网络而不是自己的“Posbox "网络。

当POSBox无法连接到网络时, 它将退回到开始了自己的“Posbox" 接入点。如果与Wi-Fi网络丢失, POSBox会尝试自动重新建立连接。

多POS 设置

建议设置多个零售点的商店是每个零售点一个POSBox. 在这个例子中, 必须为每个POSBox手动指定IP 地址.你还必须配置你的网络保证每个POSBox 的IP 地址不会改变。请参考你的路由文档。

没有POSBox的指南(高级)

如果您运行在基于Debian的Linux的销售点, 你可以不用POSBox, 你可以运行本地软件。然而安装过程并不是万无一失的。你必须知道如何安装和运行Odoo.你也许会遇到关于版本的, 或特定设置和硬件配置的问题。

Odoo模块提供了对于不同类型的硬件的驱动支持。事实上, POSBox运行Odoo的销售点通信。在POSBox运行Odoo是一个和“真正的" Odoo有很大的不同的例子。它不处理任何 [UNKNOWN NODE problematic]业务数据(如POS订单), 仅仅是作为销售点和硬件之间的网关。

本节的目标是要建立一个当地Odoo演示数据, 模拟在POSBox 上运行。

镜像建立过程

We generate the official POSBox images using the scripts in https://github.com/odoo/odoo/tree/11.0/addons/point_of_sale/tools/posbox. More specifically, we run posbox_create_image.sh. This builds an image called posbox.img, which we zip and upload to nightly.odoo.com for users to download.

在此目录中的脚本对于你碰到问题或想了解更多是很有用的。

映像创建过程总结

镜像创建进程通过下载最新 [UNKNOWN NODE title_reference] _镜像开始。然后, 它在本地挂载这个镜像, 复制一些文件和脚本, 这将使Raspbian镜像把自己变成一个POSBox在启动时。这些脚本将更新Raspbian, 删除非必要的包和安装所需的软件包。为了引导Raspbian我们用QEMU, 其能够提供ARM仿真。在此之后, 仿真Raspbian操作系统将自行关闭。然后, 我们再一次在本地挂载镜像, 删除被用来初始化在启动镜像的脚本, 我们复制了一些额外的配置文件。所产生的镜像, 然后可以被用来进行测试和使用。

先决条件

  • 基于Debian内核的Linux 版本(Debian, Ubuntu, Mint, etc)

  • A running Odoo instance you connect to load the Point of Sale
  • 你必须卸载任何ESC/POS 打印机驱动, 因为它会和Odoo内置的驱动冲突。

一步一步的安装指南

额外的依赖

由于Odoo在Python2上运行, 你需要检查你需要使用的PIP的版本。

# pip --version

如果它返回例如 :

pip 1.5.6 from /usr/local/lib/python3.3/dist-packages/pip-1.5.6-py3.3.egg (python 3.3)

你需要PIP2

如果它返回例如 :

pip 1.4.1 from /usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages (python 2.7)

使用 pip 工具.

驱动模块需要安装新的python模块

# pip install pyserial

# pip install pyusb==1.0.0b1

# pip install qrcode

访问权

驱动需要获得打印机和条码扫描仪设备的原始访问。这样做需要一点系统管理。首先我们要创建一个访问USB设备的组

# groupadd usbusers

Then we add the user who will run the Odoo server to usbusers

# usermod -a -G usbusers 用户名

允许“usbusers“自动访问USB设备, 需要创建一个udev规则。为此, 在``/etc/udev/rules.d/`` 下直接创建一个名为“99 - usbusers的文件, 文件包含以下内容:

SUBSYSTEM=="usb", GROUP="usbusers", MODE="0660"
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", GROUP="usbusers", MODE="0660"

然后你需啊重启你的机器。

开始本地Odoo实例。

我们必须用正确的设置启动Odoo服务器

$ ./odoo.py --load=web,hw_proxy,hw_posbox_homepage,hw_posbox_upgrade,hw_scale,hw_scanner,hw_escpos

测试实例。

请将所有的硬件设备插到机器的USB端口, 然后转到" http ://localhost: 8069/hw_proxy/status "" 刷新页面几次, 看看是否所有的设备都显示为 连接 。错误的可能来源是 :linux上的路径和驱动所期望的路径不同, 另一个进程已经抢到了设备的独占访问时, udev规则不适用或他被人取代。

自动启动Odoo

你必须确保Odoo 安装是在启动后自动开始。有多种方式可以实现, 如何做取决于你的特定设置.使用你的操作系统提供的安装系统可能使最简单的方式。

设置零售点

在POS的IP地址字段必须配置" 127.0.0.1 "or" localhost ", 如果你将在作为零售点的Odoo 服务器的机器上运行, 你也可以留空。

POSBox 技术文档

技术总览

收银机(POSBox) 硬件

该POSBox的硬件是基于 [UNKNOWN NODE title_reference] _, 一个普遍的单片机。Raspberry PI 2使用2A微型USB电源适配器。需要提供2A的足够电源给条码扫描器。软件安装在8G的10级或更高的SD卡。所有这些硬件都很容易从世界性的独立供应商处获得。

兼容外设

官方支持的硬件, 列在'POS硬件页<https ://www.odoo.com/page/pos-ipad-android-hardware> [UNKNOWN NODE problematic]_上。

收银机(POSBox) 软件

The POSBox runs a heavily modified Raspbian Linux installation, a Debian derivative for the Raspberry Pi. It also runs a barebones installation of Odoo which provides the webserver and the drivers. The hardware drivers are implemented as Odoo modules. Those modules are all prefixed with hw_* and they are the only modules that are running on the POSBox. Odoo is only used for the framework it provides. No business data is processed or stored on the POSBox. The Odoo instance is a shallow git clone of the 11.0 branch.

POSBox上的根分区是只读的,确保SD卡不会写太多, 同时还确保文件系统不被削减。Linux应用程序期望能写些目录。所以, 我们提供了虚拟盘 / etc和/ var (Raspbian自动提供 了/tmp)。在``/etc/init.d/rcS``中运行脚本前, 需在``setup_ramdisks.sh``设置虚拟盘。虚拟磁盘命名为/ etc_ram和/ var_ram。大多数从/ etc、/ var出来的数据将复制到tmpfs虚拟盘。为了限制虚拟盘的大小,我们不复制这些数据(如, 相关数据)。然后将数据与原来的目录绑定。当应用程序写入/etc/foo/bar时, 其实是写入/ etc_ram / foo / bar。我们也将mount / 绑定 /root_bypass_ramdisks, 以便在开发中能得到真正的/ etc、/ var。

Odoo服务器的运行Log可以在如下地方找到 :

" /var/log/odoo/odoo.log "

各种在POSBox运行的相关的脚本(如无线网络相关的脚本)将记录到/ var / log / syslog上, 那些消息都标有" [UNKNOWN NODE problematic] * "。

访问POSBox

本地访问

如果你插入一个QWERTY USB的键盘到POSBox的USB端口中, 如果你的计算机显示器连接到 * HDMI * 的POSBox的端口, 你可以使用它作为一个小的GNU / Linux计算机并执行各种管理任务, 如查看一些日志。

POSBox 将自动登入作为默认终端设备。

远程访问

如果你有POSBox的IP地址和SSH客户端, 你可以远程访问POSBox的系统。登录凭据" pi "/" raspberry "。

升级POSBox 软件

当你遇到问题或想要使用新实施的功能升级POSBox。

更新POSBox软件的最好方法是下载镜像的新版本, 并更新SD卡。该操作的详细描述在 [UNKNOWN NODE title_reference] _, 只需用最新一期的'官方POSBox镜像页面找到替换的标准Raspberry Pi 镜像<http: //nightly.odoo.com/master/posbox/> [UNKNOWN NODE problematic]_。这种升级方法将确保您正在运行最新版本的POSBox软件。

升级的第二个方法是通过内置的升级界面访问POSBox主页。这样升级的好处是, 你不必换一个新镜像。这种升级方法受限于有些不能做。例如不能更新安装配置文件(/etc/hostapd.conf)。它只能升级 :

  • 内部Odoo应用

  • 脚本在文件夹" odoo/addons/point_of_sale/tools/posbox/configuration/ "

如有疑问, 一定要使用升级的第一个方法。

疑难解答

该POS无法连接到POSBox

  • 最简单的方法确保POSBox是正确的设置, 是把它与打印机插入, 因为它会在POSBox的IP地址设置成功的情况下打印收据显示任何遇到的错误。如果不打印收据, 请执行下列步骤 :

  • 确保POSBox是通电的, 明亮的红色状态指示灯亮。

  • 确保POSBox已经准备好, 这是由一个红色电源状态指示灯后面的绿色状态指示灯指示。在启动后的POSBox应该准备〜2分钟。

  • 确保POSBox连接到POS设备的相同网络。无论是设备和POSBox应该在你的网络中路由器连接的设备的列表中可见。

  • 确保你的局域网已用DHCP设置,并赋予IP地址范围 192.168.0.X, 192.168.1.X, 10.0.0.X. 如果不能这样设置, 那就手动设置POSBox的IP地址。

  • 如果你在配置中指定POSBox的IP地址, 确保它符合POSBox上的收据打印需求。

  • 确认 POS 部分未开启 HTTPS 访问.

  • Firefox的HTTP实施时的一个故障可防止自动运行。使用火狐浏览器时, 你应在POS配置中手动设置POSBox 的IP地址。

条码枪不能使用

  • 在US QWERTY中配置条形码扫描仪, 扫码后输入。这是大多数条形码扫描仪的默认配置。有关更多信息,请参阅条形码文档。

  • POSBox需要2A电源和一些条形码扫描仪。如果你不使用提供的电源,确保你使用电源的功率。

  • 一些条形码扫描仪将需要超过2A的电源, 有时即使提供了电源也不可靠。在这些情况下,你可以把条形码扫描器连接在自供电的USB集线器上。

  • 一些简陋的条形码扫描仪是作为usb键盘, 而不是条形码扫描仪, 这将不被POSBox认可。

条码枪确实不能使用

  • 确保不超过一个设备同时与'Scan via Proxy'/'Barcode Scanner'连接到POSBox使用。

打印小票太慢

  • 打印前有稍许延迟是正常的, POSBox接下来会做一些预处理加快打印。如果之后再有延迟, 很可能是POS和POSBox之间网络连接的问题。

收据上打印出来的字母有些错误

  • POSBox不支持所有的语言和文字。基于日语的支持, 目前支持拉丁文和斯拉夫语。

打印机处于离线

  • 确保打印机是连接, 有电源,有足够的纸, 它的盖子是关闭的, 并且没有报告错误。如果错误出现, 请联系技术支持。

钱箱无法打开

  • 现金盒应该连到打印机, 在POS中应将设置激活。

信用

POSBox项目是由Frédéric van der Essen开发的, 同时得到了Gary Malherbe, Fabien Meghazi, Nicolas Wisniewsky, Dimitri Del Marmol, Joren Van Onder 和 Antony Lesuisse的帮助.

没有 Indiegogo和其他人的贡献, 开发不可能完成。特别感谢支持参加活动的创始合伙人:

  • Camptocamp
  • BHC
  • openBig
  • Eeezee-IT
  • Solarsis LDA
  • ACSONE
  • Vauxoo
  • Ekomurz
  • Datalp
  • Dao 系统

  • 鸡蛋方案

  • OpusVL

也感谢一直支持发展POSBox的合作伙伴:

  • Willow IT
  • E. Akhalwaya & Sons
  • Multibase
  • Mindesa
  • bpso.biz
  • 上海先安信息科技(Shine IT).

Toggle navigation

POSBox Setup Guide

=./odoo.py --load=web,hw_proxy,hw_posbox_homepage,hw_posbox_upgrade,hw_scale,hw_scanner,hw_escpos=========================== Point of Sale Hardware Setup ============================

Prerequisites

Before you start setting up your POSBox make sure you have everything. You will need :

  • The POSBox
  • A 2A Power adapter
  • A computer or tablet with an up-to-date web browser
  • A running SaaS or Odoo database with the Point of Sale installed
  • A local network set up with DHCP (this is the default setting)
  • An Epson USB TM-T20 Printer or another ESC/POS compatible printer (officially supported printers are listed at the POS Hardware page)
  • A Honeywell Eclipse USB Barcode Scanner or another compatible scanner
  • An Epson compatible cash drawer
  • An RJ45 Ethernet Cable (optional, Wi-Fi is built in)

Step By Step Setup Guide

Current version of the POSBox (since 2015)

Connect peripheral devices

Officially supported hardware is listed on the POS Hardware page, but other hardware might work as well.

  • Printer: Connect an ESC/POS printer to a USB port and power it on.
  • Cash drawer: The cash drawer should be connected to the printer with an RJ25 cable.
  • Barcode scanner: Connect your barcode scanner. In order for your barcode scanner to be compatible it must behave as a keyboard and must be configured in US QWERTY. It also must end barcodes with an Enter character (keycode 28). This is most likely the default configuration of your barcode scanner.
  • Scale: Connect your scale and power it on.
  • Ethernet: If you do not wish to use Wi-Fi, plug in the Ethernet cable. Make sure this will connect the POSBox to the same network as your POS device.
  • Wi-Fi: The current version of the POSBox has Wi-Fi built in. Make sure not to plug in an Ethernet cable, because all Wi-Fi functionality will be bypassed when a wired network connection is available.

Power the POSBox

Plug the power adapter into the POSBox, a bright red status led should light up.

Make sure the POSBox is ready

Once powered, The POSBox needs a while to boot. Once the POSBox is ready, it should print a status receipt with its IP address. Also the status LED, just next to the red power LED, should be permanently lit green.

Setup the Point of Sale

To setup the POSBox in the Point of Sale go to Point of Sale ‣ Configuration ‣ Point of Sale and select your Point of Sale. Scroll down to the PoSBox / Hardware Proxy section and activate the options for the hardware you want to use through the POSBox. Specifying the IP of the POSBox is recommended (it is printed on the receipt that gets printed after booting up the POSBox). When the IP is not specified the Point of Sale will attempt to find it on the local network.

If you are running multiple Point of Sale on the same POSBox, make sure that only one of them has Remote Scanning/Barcode Scanner activated.

It might be a good idea to make sure the POSBox IP never changes in your network. Refer to your router documentation on how to achieve this.

Launch the Point of Sale

If you didn't specify the POSBox's IP address in the configuration, the POS will need some time to perform a network scan to find the POSBox. This is only done once.

The Point of Sale is now connected to the POSBox and your hardware should be ready to use.

Wi-Fi configuration

The most recent version of the POSBox has Wi-Fi built in. If you're using an older version you'll need a Linux compatible USB Wi-Fi adapter. Most commercially available Wi-Fi adapters are Linux compatible. Officially supported are Wi-Fi adapters with a Ralink 5370 chipset.

Make sure not to plug in an Ethernet cable, as all Wi-Fi related functionality will be disabled when a wired network connection is available.

When the POSBox boots with a Wi-Fi adapter it will start its own Wi-Fi Access Point called "Posbox" you can connect to. The receipt that gets printed when the POSBox starts will reflect this. In order to make the POSBox connect to an already existing Wi-Fi network, go to the homepage of the POSBox (indicated on the receipt) and go to the Wi-Fi configuration page. On there you can choose a network to connect to. Note that we only support open and WPA(2)-PSK networks. When connecting to a WPA-secured network, fill in the password field. The POSBox will attempt to connect to the specified network and will print a new POSBox status receipt after it has connected.

If you plan on permanently setting up the POSBox with Wi-Fi, you can use the "persistent" checkbox on the Wi-Fi configuration page when connecting to a network. This will make the network choice persist across reboots. This means that instead of starting up its own "Posbox" network it will always attempt to connect to the specified network after it boots.

When the POSBox fails to connect to a network it will fall back to starting it's own "Posbox" Access Point. If connection is lost with a Wi-Fi network after connecting to it, the POSBox will attempt to re-establish connection automatically.

Multi-POS Configuration

The advised way to setup a multi Point of Sale shop is to have one POSBox per Point of Sale. In this case it is mandatory to manually specify the IP address of each POSBox in each Point of Sale. You must also configure your network to make sure the POSBox's IP addresses don't change. Please refer to your router documentation.

POSBoxless Guide (advanced)

If you are running your Point of Sale on a Debian-based Linux distribution, you do not need the POSBox as you can run its software locally. However the installation process is not foolproof. You'll need at least to know how to install and run Odoo. You may also run into issues specific to your distribution or to your particular setup and hardware configuration.

Drivers for the various types of supported hardware are provided as Odoo modules. In fact, the POSBox runs an instance of Odoo that the Point of Sale communicates with. The instance of Odoo running on the POSBox is very different from a 'real' Odoo instance however. It does not handle any business data (eg. POS orders), but only serves as a gateway between the Point of Sale and the hardware.

The goal of this section will be to set up a local Odoo instance that behaves like the Odoo instance running on the POSBox.

Image building process

We generate the official POSBox images using the scripts in https://github.com/odoo/odoo/tree/11.0/addons/point_of_sale/tools/posbox. More specifically, we run posbox_create_image.sh. This builds an image called posbox.img, which we zip and upload to nightly.odoo.com for users to download.

The scripts in this directory might be useful as a reference if you get stuck or want more detail about something.

Summary of the image creation process

The image creation process starts by downloading the latest Raspbian image. It then locally mounts this Raspbian image and copies over some files and scripts that will make the Raspbian image turn itself into a POSBox when it boots. These scripts will update Raspbian, remove non-essential packages and install required packages. In order to boot Raspbian we use qemu, which is capable of providing ARM emulation. After this, the emulated Raspbian OS will shut itself down. We then once again locally mount the image, remove the scripts that were used to initialize the image at boot and we copy over some extra configuration files. The resulting image is then ready to be tested and used.

Prerequisites

  • A Debian-based Linux distribution (Debian, Ubuntu, Mint, etc.)
  • A running Odoo instance you connect to load the Point of Sale
  • You must uninstall any ESC/POS printer driver as it will conflict with Odoo's built-in driver

Step By Step Setup Guide

Extra dependencies

Because Odoo 11.0 runs on Python 3, you need to check which version of pip you need to use.

# pip --version

If it returns something like:

pip 1.4.1 from /usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages (python 2.7)

You need to try pip3 instead.

If it returns something like:

pip 1.5.6 from /usr/local/lib/python3.3/dist-packages/pip-1.5.6-py3.3.egg (python 3.3)

You can use pip.

The driver modules requires the installation of new python modules:

# pip install netifaces evdev pyusb==1.0.0b1

Access Rights

The drivers need raw access to the printer and barcode scanner devices. Doing so requires a bit system administration. First we are going to create a group that has access to USB devices

# groupadd usbusers

Then we add the user who will run the Odoo server to usbusers

# usermod -a -G usbusers USERNAME

Then we need to create a udev rule that will automatically allow members of usbusers to access raw USB devices. To do so create a file called 99-usbusers.rules in the /etc/udev/rules.d/ directory with the following content:

SUBSYSTEM=="usb", GROUP="usbusers", MODE="0660"
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", GROUP="usbusers", MODE="0660"

Then you need to reload the udev rules or reboot your machine if reloading the rules did not work.

# udevadm control --reload-rules && udevadm trigger

Start the local Odoo instance

We must launch the Odoo server with the correct settings

$ ./odoo-bin --load=web,hw_proxy,hw_posbox_homepage,hw_scale,hw_scanner,hw_escpos

Test the instance

Plug all your hardware to your machine's USB ports, and go to http://localhost:8069/hw_proxy/status refresh the page a few times and see if all your devices are indicated as Connected. Possible source of errors are: The paths on the distribution differ from the paths expected by the drivers, another process has grabbed exclusive access to the devices, the udev rules do not apply or a superseded by others.

Automatically start Odoo

You must now make sure that this Odoo install is automatically started after boot. There are various ways to do so, and how to do it depends on your particular setup. Using the init system provided by your distribution is probably the easiest way to accomplish this.

Setup the Point of Sale

The IP address field in the POS configuration must be either 127.0.0.1 or localhost if you're running the created Odoo server on the machine that you'll use as the Point of Sale device. You can also leave it empty.

POSBox Technical Documentation

Technical Overview

The POSBox Hardware

The POSBox's Hardware is based on a Raspberry Pi 2, a popular single-board computer. The Raspberry Pi 2 is powered with a 2A micro-usb power adapter. 2A is needed to give enough power to the barcode scanners. The Software is installed on a 8Gb Class 10 or Higher SD Card. All this hardware is easily available worldwide from independent vendors.

Compatible Peripherals

Officially supported hardware is listed on the POS Hardware page.

The POSBox Software

The POSBox runs a heavily modified Raspbian Linux installation, a Debian derivative for the Raspberry Pi. It also runs a barebones installation of Odoo which provides the webserver and the drivers. The hardware drivers are implemented as Odoo modules. Those modules are all prefixed with hw_* and they are the only modules that are running on the POSBox. Odoo is only used for the framework it provides. No business data is processed or stored on the POSBox. The Odoo instance is a shallow git clone of the 11.0 branch.

The root partition on the POSBox is mounted read-only, ensuring that we don't wear out the SD card by writing to it too much. It also ensures that the filesystem cannot be corrupted by cutting the power to the POSBox. Linux applications expect to be able to write to certain directories though. So we provide a ramdisk for /etc and /var (Raspbian automatically provides one for /tmp). These ramdisks are setup by setup_ramdisks.sh, which we run before all other init scripts by running it in /etc/init.d/rcS. The ramdisks are named /etc_ram and /var_ram respectively. Most data from /etc and /var is copied to these tmpfs ramdisks. In order to restrict the size of the ramdisks, we do not copy over certain things to them (eg. apt related data). We then bind mount them over the original directories. So when an application writes to /etc/foo/bar it's actually writing to /etc_ram/foo/bar. We also bind mount / to /root_bypass_ramdisks to be able to get to the real /etc and /var during development.

Logs of the running Odoo server can be found at:

/var/log/odoo/odoo.log

Various POSBox related scripts (eg. wifi-related scripts) running on the POSBox will log to /var/log/syslog and those messages are tagged with posbox_*.

Accessing the POSBox

Local Access

If you plug a QWERTY USB keyboard into one of the POSBox's USB ports, and if you connect a computer monitor to the HDMI port of the POSBox, you can use it as a small GNU/Linux computer and perform various administration tasks, like viewing some logs.

The POSBox will automatically log in as root on the default tty.

Remote Access

If you have the POSBox's IP address and an SSH client you can access the POSBox's system remotely. The login credentials are pi/raspberry.

Updating The POSBox Software

Only upgrade the POSBox if you experience problems or want to use newly implemented features.

The best way to update the POSBox software is to download a new version of the image and flash the SD-Card with it. This operation is described in detail in this tutorial, just replace the standard Raspberry Pi image with the latest one found at the official POSBox image page. This method of upgrading will ensure that you're running the latest version of the POSBox software.

The second way of upgrading is through the built in upgrade interface that can be reached through the POSBox homepage. The nice thing about upgrading like this is that you don't have to flash a new image. This upgrade method is limited to what it can do however. It can not eg. update installed configuration files (like eg. /etc/hostapd.conf). It can only upgrade:

  • The internal Odoo application
  • Scripts in the folder odoo/addons/point_of_sale/tools/posbox/configuration/

When in doubt, always use the first method of upgrading.

Troubleshoot

The POS cannot connect to the POSBox

  • The easiest way to make sure the POSBox is properly set-up is to turn it on with the printer plugged in as it will print a receipt indicating any error if encountered or the POSBox's IP address in case of success. If no receipt is printed, check the following steps:
  • Make sure the POSBox is powered on, indicated by a brightly lit red status LED.
  • Make sure the POSBox is ready, this is indicated by a brightly lit green status LED just next to the red power status LED. The POSBox should be ready ~2 minutes after it is started.
  • Make sure the POSBox is connected to the same network as your POS device. Both the device and the POSBox should be visible in the list of connected devices on your network router.
  • Make sure that your LAN is set up with DHCP, and gives IP addresses in the range 192.168.0.X, 192.168.1.X, 10.0.0.X. If you cannot setup your LAN that way, you must manually set up your POSBox's IP address.
  • If you have specified the POSBox's IP address in the configuration, make sure it correspond to the printed on the POSBox's status receipt.
  • Make sure that the POS is not loaded over HTTPS.
  • A bug in Firefox's HTTP implementation prevents the autodiscovery from working reliably. When using Firefox you should manually set up the POSBox's IP address in the POS configuration.

The Barcode Scanner is not working

  • The barcode scanner must be configured in US QWERTY and emit an Enter after each barcode. This is the default configuration of most barcode readers. Refer to the barcode reader documentation for more information.
  • The POSBox needs a 2A power supply to work with some barcode scanners. If you are not using the provided power supply, make sure the one you use has enough power.
  • Some barcode scanners will need more than 2A and will not work, or will work unreliably, even with the provided power supply. In those case you can plug the barcode scanner in a self-powered USB hub.
  • Some poorly built barcode scanners do not advertise themselves as barcode scanners but as a usb keyboard instead, and will not be recognized by the POSBox.

The Barcode Scanner is not working reliably

  • Make sure that no more than one device with 'Scan via Proxy'/'Barcode Scanner' enabled are connected to the POSBox at the same time.

Printing the receipt takes too much time

  • A small delay before the first print is expected, as the POSBox will do some preprocessing to speed up the next printings. If you suffer delays afterwards it is most likely due to poor network connection between the POS and the POSBox.

Some characters are not correctly printed on the receipt

  • The POSBox does not support all languages and characters. It currently supports Latin and Cyrillic based scripts, with basic Japanese support.

The printer is offline

  • Make sure the printer is connected, powered, has enough paper and has its lid closed, and is not reporting an error. If the error persists, please contact support.

The cashdrawer does not open

  • The cashdrawer should be connected to the printer and should be activated in the POS configuration.

Credits

The POSBox project was developed by Frédéric van der Essen with the kind help of Gary Malherbe, Fabien Meghazi, Nicolas Wisniewsky, Dimitri Del Marmol, Joren Van Onder and Antony Lesuisse.

This development would not have been possible without the Indiegogo campaign and those who contributed to it. Special thanks goes to the partners who backed the campaign with founding partner bundles:

  • Camptocamp
  • BHC
  • openBig
  • Eeezee-IT
  • Solarsis LDA
  • ACSONE
  • Vauxoo
  • Ekomurz
  • Datalp
  • Dao Systems
  • Eggs Solutions
  • OpusVL

And also the partners who've backed the development with the Founding POSBox Bundle:

  • Willow IT
  • E. Akhalwaya & Sons
  • Multibase
  • Mindesa
  • bpso.biz
  • Shine IT.