This question has been flagged
2 Replies

hello i am new in odoo 

i wnat to know about all decoraters i alrady seen all documantation but its very hard to understand for me .

my question is

when i use @api.model?

when i use @api.dependace

when i use @api.onchange

please ans in easy way to better understand for me

thanks in advance

Discard
Author

thank you Waleed Mohsen

can u give me information about all of the api in odoo 15
it is possible for you?

Best Answer

Hi,

api.model

The model decorator is used with the methods where self is a record set, but only the model is relevant and not its contents. It helps in the code migration since it will convert the old API calls to the new ones, which makes the migration process faster.

Here is an example code for @api.model:

@api.model
def _get_default_currency(self):
''' Get the default currency from either the journal, either the default journal's company. '''
journal = self._get_default_journal()
return journal.currency_id or journal.company_id.currency_id

api.depends

The depends decorator is used to specify the compute dependencies for a computing method. Each argument must be a string of field names, where it can be a simple or a dot-separated sequence of field names. It is possible to pass a single function as an argument, where the dependencies are given by calling the function with the field’s model.

Here is an example code for @api.depends:

complete_name = fields.Char('Complete Name', compute='_compute_complete_name', store=True)
@api.depends('name', 'parent_id.complete_name')
def _compute_complete_name(self):
for department in self:
if department.parent_id:
department.complete_name = '%s / %s' % (
department.parent_id.complete_name, department.name)
else:
department.complete_name = department.name

api.onchange