This question has been flagged
2 Replies

Hi community!

I'm curious if there is a way to start the import process from the side menu? For instance I havea an object called "Container".

I want to add an entry to the side menu that will take me directly to the "Import Container" screen, as opposed to clicking "Container", and then choosing the import link at the top of the screen.

Is this possible?

Discard

Sure, you could definitely hack something like that together, but I'd have to ask how that would be worth implementing. Are you really importing so frequently that the additional click is worth bypassing? If that's the case, maybe you should focus your efforts on automating the import rather than the click.

Author

I realize it seems odd, but its a customer request. The customer wishes to have this functionality. Could you possible explain a little more further what the "hack" would entail? I'm a very capable openerp programmer, I'm just not sure how to set up the action to do this.

Best Answer

It's actually much easier than I expected. You set up a client action with the tag 'import', and the params set to {'model': 'container.model'}. Then just make a standard menuitem and link to that action. This code completely covers it for events (randomly picked as an example):

<openerp>
<data>

<record id="event_import_action" model="ir.actions.client">
    <field name="name">Import Events</field>
    <field name="tag">import</field>
    <field name="params" eval="{'model': 'event.event'}"/>
</record>

<menuitem id="event_import_menu" action="event_import_action" parent="base.menu_event_main" sequence="16"/>

</data>
</openerp>

The end result is a traditional menuitem that opens the import menu for events: import_menu.jpg Just change around the menuitem location and model to your liking.

Discard
Author