Odoo Help

Welcome!

This community is for beginners and experts willing to share their Odoo knowledge. It's not a forum to discuss ideas, but a knowledge base of questions and their answers.

Reg - Creating custom fields in OpenERP v7

By
omprakash
on 3/11/13, 10:06 AM 9,197 views

Hi Friends ,

I am very new to OpenERP . I can realize the excellent functionality in OpenERP . I have some doubt please help me .

1. Is it possible to add new custom fields in Web User Interface ? (ie) ( without using code )

2. Is it possible to modify the existing fields in Web User Interface ?

Is there any document available , to add custom fields through User Interface please share with me & I am very interest to learn about OpenERP.

Thanks & Regards

vinoth

vim24
On 3/12/13, 5:28 PM

Have you looked in Settings > Technical > Database Structure > Fields? (Making sure the user has 'Technical Features' enabled in their access rights). This lists all the current fields, allowing you to edit existing ones and create new custom fields. Of course to make them show up on the UI itself you will then need to add them to a view (Settings > Technical > User Interface > Views).

Personally, I find it easier to add these by creating my own module, but that does require some code. Try reading the documentation here: doc.openerp.com/trunk/developers/server/03_module_dev_02/#fields-introduction

Hai Dawn , Thanks for your reply .

omprakash
on 3/13/13, 1:49 AM

I have created a module but I dnt have idea to set fields and how to add them . I want it to be done by coding. Plz guide me

arsalan
on 6/17/13, 5:48 AM