This question has been flagged
1 Reply

Hello, I'm a complete newbbie about odoo and I thank you for your time and help.

In the last month I installed more times Odoo from source onto a 32bit Windows 7 machine. I ran odoo and did some scaffolding without problems.

In the last days I installed, always from source, Odoo (odoo_8.0.20150318) onto a 64bit Windows 8 machine. As usual I edited the requirements.txt

file to comment out python-ldap, gevent and psutil like documentation says.

It had been running without problems for 2 days.

Then I tried to scaffolding a new module and I got an error about ldap....

if I well remember odoo/openerp/cli/__init__.py was trying to import the auth_ldap module

for m in module.get_modules():

m = 'openerp.addons.' + m

__import__(m)

I don't understand why this didn't happen previous times, anyway to reach my goal I just put a print before the __import__ and an if-test module

name = "auth_ldap" then continue. It worked and I restored the modified code.

Anyway it's not this the strange thing I'm going to talk about...

I did some changes to my new module and it worked. After a while suddenly odoo stopped starting, even if leaving out my new module.

(I'm sorry I don't have a traceback anymore):

odoo/openerp/cli/deploy.py was getting an import error when trying to do "from . import Command" (one of the first things it does)

odoo/openerp/cli/deploy.py is imported by odoo/openerp/cli/__init__.py whose defines the class Command himself!!

The fact is that the "import deploy" was used first than the Command definition. And this makes me perfectly understand why it wasn't starting...

... but how could it before??

Later I had the idea of renaming the "odoo" folder into "odoo_old" e unzipping the same tar source code file I used before. I started odoo and it ran!

Later I compared the "odoo" and "odoo_old" folders and I found a lot of differences, mainly in PY files and mainly in its "import": the import order