This question has been flagged
5 Replies

Hi Odoo developers,

First of all, I'm a newbie in Odoo 8 development, but after I had read all tutorials and something in the Reference section from the Odoo developers webpage, I feel that the Odoo framework is not well documented and only a few simple examples are provided.

Secondly, If I study the source code of the core modules in Odoo (eg. Events) I can't understand a lot of things. Where should I look for to understand this?.
Also, in my opinion, the code in models (.py files) and xml files doesn't have many comments to understand it. How to know the execution flow whether there are a lot of files involved in the process?.

Also, many modules in Odoo 8 are implemented using the OpenERP v7 framework. Then, apart from studying the Odoo 8 framework, I have to study the OpenERP v7 framework too. It's annoying.
If a want to develop a new module in Odoo 8 extending the capabilities of a module incorporated in Odoo, I have to know how it works the OpenERP framework to understand the source code of the extended module.

Thirdly, where is it explained the arquitecture of the files from the Odoo core. A few hours ago, I guessed that a method to resize images exists in tools module, but I don't understand neither how it works nor the arguments to pass it.
Where is this kinds of things documented?.

It's only mi personal opinion as a newbie, but I think that, when a developer is a novice in something, having a good documentation and a well-documented source code is absolutely necessary to implement advanced functionalities. 

And my question. How did you learn to do complicated things to develop modules in Odoo 8?.

Discard
Best Answer

Hi Eduardo,

About 7 months ago I was in the position where you are now and I would like to share my knowledge / opinion on this, since this costed me a lot of time.