Odoo Help

Welcome!

This community is for beginners and experts willing to share their Odoo knowledge. It's not a forum to discuss ideas, but a knowledge base of questions and their answers.

Is Odoo a crappy product? [Closed]

By
Harmstra
on 7/10/14, 12:07 PM 1,126 views

The Question has been closed for reason: not a real question

by
Ray Carnes
on 07/10/2014 13:35:54

Ok, a bit exaggerating title perhaps, just to draw your attention ;)

I asked our development team to investigate if Odoo would be suitable for us, to build our customer platform upon. My idea was to use Odoo to store our products, customers, create invoices, etc.  by means of  the API.

They investigated the Odoo project on github and the Odoo site for a few days, and concluded that the code base of Odoo is crappy code.  They advise against it, because the don't want to build our platform on quicksand they say. I cannot go into details any further, because I'm no a developer myself.

I'd like to know if my team could be right, or are the completely wrong? Please don't ask for specific things, I'd like to have your opinion the global Odoo project.

Closing this. It violates the Guidelines, please read them. This is a Q&A site - your need is better served by the Google+ Communities. Specific violation "there is no actual problem to be solved: “I’m curious if other people feel like I do.”"

Bista Solutions US, Ray Carnes
on 7/10/14, 1:35 PM

You may also consider contacting Odoo and asking for Customer References. There are many, and are many partners who depend on the product for their livelihood.

Bista Solutions US, Ray Carnes
on 7/10/14, 1:37 PM
Ben Olsen
On 7/10/14, 1:42 PM

A question that subjective will never have a definite answer. Also, your team cannot possibly be completely right or completely wrong, because there are positives and negatives to every software package, including Odoo.