Odoo Help

Welcome!

This community is for beginners and experts willing to share their Odoo knowledge. It's not a forum to discuss ideas, but a knowledge base of questions and their answers.

How to understand Traceback (most recent call last)?

By
ton123
on 3/7/13, 4:16 PM 12,778 views

Most people who start with OpenERP doesn't make the right set-up of the software. Because of the wrong set-up the systems often reacts with errors and long trace backs.

Those starters are by definition not experienced. So they don't understand what the trace back is trying to tell them.

A lot of more experienced users have also their problems in interpreting the trace backs.

Next step for both categories is to post the trace-backs on the forum with their cry for help. If this happens it pollutes our nice forum.

Is it an idea to make some kind of a guide: "How to read your trace back yourself". If one can read is self one can communicate more effective on this forum. I am not experienced enought to make such a guide. But I hope your answers will be a start.

kalmenchia
On 3/8/13, 2:45 AM

Hi ,

In order for you to understand the trace back , the best way is to learn python programming.

The trace backs are presented to all of us. Most of us are not programmers. And not Python programmers. There must be some smart things to look for which can be done by an intelligent person without programming knowledge. I am not looking for the "best" way but for the intelligent way.

ton123
on 3/11/13, 8:42 AM

ton123

--ton123--
| 5 6 9
Lisse, Netherlands
--ton123--