Odoo Help

Welcome!

This community is for beginners and experts willing to share their Odoo knowledge. It's not a forum to discuss ideas, but a knowledge base of questions and their answers.

How to handle a workflow in which changes to customer orders during packaging are the norm?

By
Shahar Or
on 4/18/13, 3:34 PM 1,512 views

Short version

We have a workflow where almost all customer orders need to be changed during packaging. This is due to fresh produce like vegetables. For example, while the order from the customer is 3kg of tomatoes, we supply and charge for 3.1kg of tomatoes.

How would you deal with this?

My confusion stems from the fact that Sales Orders are not meant to be edited.

A longer description

I've got a work flow in a food marketing business that I couldn't so far been able to wrap an OpenERP implementation around.

I'm new at OpenERP so, again, please bear with me.

The workflow of this food marketing business is:

1. Customers make orders online. An example order for our case would be 3kg of tomatoes (usually orders are multiple items but this is enough for the example)
  2. We have only Stockable Products, both Make to Stock (rice, oats, etc.) and Make to Order (Fruits, Vegetables, etc.). Once a week, on the day before packaging day, the purchasing manager examines the totals of all the Make to Order products that were sold that week and orders them from our suppliers.
  3. On the next day, all the Make to Order products are received and the packaging team edits the orders while packaging them. For example, while an order was 3kg of tomatoes, the employee managed to weigh 3.1kg of tomatoes. This is usual and acceptable.