Odoo Help

Welcome!

This community is for beginners and experts willing to share their Odoo knowledge. It's not a forum to discuss ideas, but a knowledge base of questions and their answers.

How to fix USBError: [Errno 32] Pipe error in Posboxless enviroment?

By
Monchai P
on 9/3/16, 1:07 AM 298 views

I'm trying to setup posboxless on my Linux laptop for testing. I'm also new to Linux and Odoo world. 

environment
  • Ubuntu 16.04 LTS

• Odoo 9 (a local instance)

• esc/pos printer EPSON TM-T88IV

how to reproduce

1. run odoo.py --load=web,hw_proxy,hw_posbox_homepage,hw_escpos

The printer prints out PoxBox Status on the paper and everything seem fine.

2. Check the status via web page http://localhost:8069/hw_proxy/status 

It reports hardware status and everything seem fine.

However it reports error on the terminal and the status page cannot be accessed from the browser anymore when I press refresh. 

The error is related to Pipe which I really don't know how to fix it. Please help me solve. 

2016-09-03 04:04:38,248 4789 INFO ? openerp.addons.hw_escpos.controllers.main: error : [Errno 32] Pipe error
2016-09-03 04:04:38,248 4789 ERROR ? openerp.addons.hw_escpos.controllers.main: ESC/POS Error: [Errno 32] Pipe error
2016-09-03 04:04:38,249 4789 ERROR ? openerp.addons.hw_escpos.controllers.main: [Errno 32] Pipe error
------------------------------------------------------------
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/openerp/addons/hw_escpos/controllers/main.py", line 148, in run
printer = self.get_escpos_printer()
File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/openerp/addons/hw_escpos/controllers/main.py", line 105, in get_escpos_printer
printers = self.connected_usb_devices()
File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/openerp/addons/hw_escpos/controllers/main.py", line 92, in connected_usb_devices
'name': usb.util.get_string(printer, 256, printer.iManufacturer) + " " + usb.util.get_string(printer, 256, printer.iProduct)