This question has been flagged
4 Replies

Hello,

I'm new to odoo and i'm trying to modify the 'add product' a little, more exactly the internal reference field. I would like to add a dynamic search to it, so that when i start to enter a reference, i get below a list of references that match what i have already entered. More exactly you can see this already implemented in Purchases - Requests for Quotation - Create - Add an item - product column.

I tried to start small and create a simple module to just have the internal reference unique. But i can't figure it out. I've read the few posts that mention this, but i couldn't make it work. My current code is:

class product_product(osv.osv):
    _name = "product.product"
_description = "Product"
_inherits = {'product.template': 'product_tmpl_id'}

_sql_constraints = [
('default_code', 'unique(default_code)', 'Product Reference must be unique!'),
]
product_product()

I also tried this module https://www.odoo.com/apps/modules/8.0/product_unique_default_code/ , but it doesn't work either.

If you have any idea please help. Also, i can't find any proper docs for odoo. Their website seems to only have bits and pieces. Do you know any better tutorials?

Thank you

Discard
Author Best Answer

Thank you for the answer. Yes, i have already tried like that, too, and it didn't work.

-----

Thank you for the answers. Sorry, apparently i can't comment or post again so the only way to answer seems to edit my only post. First of all sorry for the delay, only now i had the chance to test again.

@Teemur, @Drees Far: if i use only "_inherit = ['product.template']"  then i get an error when trying to install the module: KeyError: 'product_tmpl_id'

@Emipro Technologies Pvt. Ltd.: i have already tried this, but it doesn't do anything. The module installs ok, but then i can add products with the same default_code.

---------

I finally got it to work. It was a combination between all the answers. So, the py code is: