This question has been flagged
2 Replies

a incoming e-mail should create a new record in my model.

the model exists, it contains two fields and i can edit manually .
under incoming-mail-server i also choosed "create new record" pointing at my model
i guess i can use the "message_new" function from the project_issue.py to my model.py and change some values to get the values in (subject, sender, body) in my models fields. am i right?

i just started learning phyton so i can need some hints :) thx

Discard
Author Best Answer

i was right with the method "message_new"

https://www.odoo.com/forum/help-1/question/customize-the-auto-lead-creation-through-incoming-emails-272, answer of Lucio from 2/19/13 helped me out so far

just had to use correct syntax to write in database :)

Discard
Best Answer

Hi Beat Besmer! I would like to take your post as an opportunity to clarify this process a bit more for people new to Odoo, like me. Because as of today, Odoo still has some built-in modules that don't support record creation based on incoming e-mails.

I was trying to create Purchase Orders from e-mail messages, for example, but I was seeing log errors like this (/var/log/odoo - file: odoo-server):

17-11-21 02:00:01,390 1293  odoo.addons.fetchmail.models.fetchmail: start checking for new emails on imap server YOURSERVER
2017-11-21 02:00:04,191 1293 odoo.addons.mail.models.mail_thread: Routing mail from John Doe <john@somedomain.com> to PO <po_odoo@somedomain.com> with Message-Id <033BEAFA3A88314AAD1AF741D8A56C0E95DD2533@YOURSERVER>: fallback to model:purchase.order, thread_id:None, custom_values:None, uid:5
2017-11-21 02:00:04,288 1293 ERROR odoo.sql_db: bad query: b'INSERT INTO "purchase_order" ("id", "currency_id", [... LONG COLUNM LIST...]
ERROR: null value in column "partner_id" violates not-null constraint

So here is an example of a simple "message_new" method that you can use on an Odoo 10 installation, for Purchase Orders: