This question has been flagged

Hi Guys,

I posted a specific question a week ago and got a great answer, but I keep getting hung up on small details in Open ERP that make me feel like I am mucking through everything ever so slowly. I thought if I laid out the work flow I need and specific hang ups I have maybe some of you fine folks could lend a hand. I am not a developer, I have worked in various ERP and PLM systems such as Arigo but I just worked in it, not mapped it out.

So to explain quickly what we do:

We are a manufacturer of hand made footwear. We buy raw materials from suppliers such as leather tanneries, sole manufacturers, glue manufacturers, etc... We stock this raw materials in buys 6-12 months in advance and produce shoes a year ahead of delivery. So for instance we are finishing up production of our spring 2014 orders in the next month, and will then get our fall 2015 orders and start production on those in Fed/March. Production/raw material buys are getting to be complex and rather large for us, so we need to be on point with planning and buying.

We also have a DTC (direct to consumer) business where we get orders online and then make those custom to the customers specifications. We treat this like a separate business unit. We will be trying to create some inventory for ourselves in the coming months as well, to try and improve our turn around here.

For sales orders, I need to reflect them to represent not just a style/SKU but also sizes ordered as well, as this needs to be reflected on the invoice/PO/ and MO. I have seen some tutorials on how to do this, and will be trying tomorrow.

My main issue is setting up the products, raw materials, and BOM so they all make sense and the work flows properly.

I set up a boot, and name it. I put it under a category I made called "finished goods/mens boots". I set product type as stockable, and unit of measure as "prs". I then set sale as the wholesale price. Internal ref = our SKU #.