Odoo Help

Welcome!

This community is for beginners and experts willing to share their Odoo knowledge. It's not a forum to discuss ideas, but a knowledge base of questions and their answers.

File Changes Not Working in OpenERP

By
Vj
on 4/24/13, 4:04 AM 2,171 views

I am new to OpenERP. I have successfully installed OpenERP-7.0 in Ubuntu server(local machine). I have edited some files in helpdesk module in below path in menu

Sales => Configuration = > Helpdesk => Categories

I have edited helpdesk files in below path

opt/openerp/server/openerp/addons/crm_helpdesk/crm_helpdesk_view.xml

but my changes are not reflecting in the front-end on the above menu.

so shall i need to do anything for changes reflection in frontend?

I need to customize theme & some other functionality in helpdesk module.

Any help my appreciation.

Thanks All.

Antanas
On 4/24/13, 4:16 AM

Try to stop OpenERP server and then restart server with:

openerp-server -c path_to_config_file -u crm_helpdesk

That line means start openerp server using config file (-c path_to_config_file) and update module crm_helpdesk (-u crm_helpdesk)

Edit: First generate a config file:

openerp-server -s -c <config_file_path>

replace tagged code with a path to file where your config file will be.

Then:

openerp-server -c <config_file_path> -u crm_helpdesk

replacing tagged code with path to your now existing config file path. This line starts server with parameters in config file and updates "crm_helpdesk" module.

openerp@testdev:~$ /opt/openerp/server/openerp-server -c path_to_config_file -u crm_helpdesk Usage: openerp-server [options]

openerp-server: error: The config file 'path_to_config_file' selected with -c/--config doesn't exist, use -s/--save if you want to generate it openerp@testdev:~$

Vj
on 4/24/13, 4:28 AM