Odoo Help

Welcome!

This community is for beginners and experts willing to share their Odoo knowledge. It's not a forum to discuss ideas, but a knowledge base of questions and their answers.

Define a Product with a Unique Key

By
rahul Hans
on 2/9/15, 9:41 AM 2,358 views

Hi, 

I am new to OpenErp. But I am conversant with ERP and with the functional areas of a business. I am working with a retail company that sells accessories and items of clothing amongst other products.

We need to create a product with a unique key. On my attempt to create a product I found I was able to create more than one salable product with 

1. Same Name

2. Same EAN13 barcode

My questions are very basic and is related to products. More specifically to definition of products. 

I need to create a product with a unique bar code. In other words, once defined with a 13 digit bar code, it should no tbe possible to create another product with the same bar code. Ideally this should also happen in case of product name.

1. Is there any way to achieve this in OpenERP?

2. What is the approach that OpenErp uses in defining unique products?

3. Is there any way to define a field in OpenErp that can be unique. We should be able to use the field to search a product and the field should also be usable by a bar code scanner?

I hope my questions are clear. In case of any doubts, please do let me know.

An early response would be appreciated

rahul Hans
On 2/9/15, 11:26 AM

Okay. First of all can thanks for your answer. 

I understand Sql constraints.

What are the exact differences between _constraints & @api_constraints? I can speculate on the differences 

A brief but reply would be most helpful. 

Also I tried searching for api constraints. Could not find anything useful. Can you point me in the right direction?

Thanks once again

Thanks very much for your informative answers

rahul Hans
on 2/10/15, 9:45 AM

Atchuthan - Technical Consultant, Sodexis Inc