Odoo Help

Welcome!

This community is for beginners and experts willing to share their Odoo knowledge. It's not a forum to discuss ideas, but a knowledge base of questions and their answers.

Changing invoice layout

By
Cristian Livadaru
on 2/16/13, 3:38 PM 19,721 views

Not sure on where to start reading about modifying how invoices look. This is my first try with openerp so I don't really know much on how things work. So far I read about the openoffice and sxw files and the webkit html to pdf. Not sure which one works for v7 and how and where to start. I looked at the sxw file of my fresh install but it doesn't really look like invoice that was generated. Can someone point me in the right direction?

Thanks.

Hi, Someone knows about the status of report_designer for V7.0 ? Thank you

SISalp
on 2/18/13, 8:37 PM
SISalp
On 3/2/13, 4:36 PM

Here is how you can use the report designer, which is a module in OpenERP that allows you to change the look of most documents:

Ian Beardslee
On 2/24/13, 6:21 PM

The invoices is actually two parts.

• The company Header/Footer
  • The invoice content.

Although you can edit the sxw files directly on the file system, we will may end up with different report formats as we move forward supporting different systems. So database config does win to some degree here.

To edit the company Header/Footer I just edited the RML in Settings >> Companies >> <company> >> [edit] >> Header/Footer.

To edit the content, I installed the OpenOffice Report Designer (base_report_designer). This give you an add-on to install for OpenOffice (I use LibreOffice 3.6.2.2 on Ubuntu 12.10) to connect to the database and you can then "Modify An Existing Report". Make your changes and "Send To Server".

I've found that sometimes I can then print an invoice within OpenERP and the changes are visible, other times I have to "Conversion Brackets >> Fields" and then "Conversion Fields >> Brackets" before "Send To Server".