This question has been flagged
12 Replies

Hi, Good Day!

Another question for today. I am currently studying the Accounting Module and I am a bit lost. Anyway, regarding this Cash Register tab, can this be considered as Petty Cash? How to used it? I mean, can somebody give me a step by step procedure on how to use this Cash box, and what is OBI by the way? I'm a bit confused so a little opinion can possibly help.

How to setup its opening and closing balance? Thanks !

Discard
Best Answer

Dear Jheszica,

I am in a similar situation as you. Let me tell you what I understand so far of how it works. Let me know if my info is helpful to you or if you discovered things that contradict how I think it works!

I got a pile of cash in the safe. (say 1000$) then I have a little box on my office for people coming in wanting a little cash to get small stuff like a lightbulb.

Step 1) configure the cash journal goto: configuration >> journals >> journals >> click on the cash journal Then select the cash journal for the profit account, the loss account and the internal transfer account. This means if you put money in this cash register it will be taken from the cash account.

Question 1) I read in another post something about the checkbox opening with last closing balance but wasn't able to figure out how it works. (checking and unchecking didn't really change the behaviour)

Step 2) Create a cash register goto: bank & cash >> cash registers >> click create Now click open cashbox. At this point the box is empty. Lets assume you have 4 fifty dollar bills for the cash register.

Step 3) Put money in the box Click on the more button in the center of the top toolbar, then select put money in Put 200 and as reason something like initial deposit.

Step 4) do a petty cash transaction Click edit then add item in the obi put lightbulb in the amount put -5 (don't forget the minus sign else it will add to the register). Also put office expenses in the account.