This question has been flagged
10 Replies

Hi all, I'm new to Odoo and working with v11. Currently I got a problem with passing value and calculation.

Here is related coding

.py file:

class costSummary(models.Model):

_name = 'cost.summary'

total = XXXXX

cost_line = fields.One2many('cost.details', inverse_name='cost_id')

class costDetails(models.Model):

_name = 'cost.details'

cost_id = fields.Many2one('cost.summary', ondelete='cascade')

cost_line_id = fields.Char(string="SubExpense")

cost_line_desc = fields.Text(string="SubExpense Description")

cost_line_cost = fields.Float(string='Cost')

xml/view file:

<field name="cost_line_cost" sum="Total cost"/>

Now, I would like to use "total" to store the cost value (the total cost) and display it. But I dont know how to do that. I guess it should be looks like this:

total = fields.Float(store=True, compute='_compute_amount')

@api.depends('cost_line_cost')

def _compute_amount(self):

for rec in self:

rec.total += rec.env['cost.details'].search([]).cost_line_cost

Can anyone please show me how to do it in details? what I missed? any hint will be useful, Thanks a lot!

Discard
Author Best Answer

Hi all, Thx for the help from Niyas Raphy, I have a much clear picture. I just solved this problem and for people who has the similar problem, hope my answer can help you.

There are 3 keys to solve this problem.

First of all, in my case, what I'm trying to get is a recordset and then find the cost value for each record, sum it up and create a field to store its value (not setting up total_cost column for each record). Secondly, of course, using @api.depends rather than @api.onchange  Thirdly, using update method

This is what my code looks like:

@api.depends('cost_line')

def _compute_amount(self):
    for rec in self:

money = 0

for details_rec in rec.cost_line:
            if details_rec.cost_line_cost:
                money = money +  details_rec.cost_line_cost

self.update({ 'total' : money })

Discard