This question has been flagged

Hi!

I am new to Odoo v9 and have been reading into the subject of using Odoo as a support ticket system. I have Odoo set up properly, created a Support project and defined that incoming mails (to support@...) create a new Issue in that project. Assigning, replying and internal commenting all works.

Now I need some additional functions. The most important would be to send an automatic template-based email reply when a new ticket comes in/is created. My online studies showed that the following process is required to achieve this:

1. Create an Email template

2. Create a Server Action to send the Email 

3. Create an Automated Action that triggers the Server Action

First of all: Is this process correct?

Then I do have several questions concerning each of the steps. Keep in mind that I want a solution without Python coding but using the UI of Odoo v9 (Settings - Technical - ...).

Step1 - Create an Email template:

• What do I need to set in the "Applies to" field? I set it to Project Issue, but that was a wild guess.

• In the Email configuration tab: I set the "To (Emails)" field to: ${object.email_from} That seemed to be the most logical. Will that send the reply to the ticket issuer?

Step 2- Create a Server Action to send the Email:

• I set "Base Model" to Project Issue again but have no idea what this actually does. Can someone elaborate?

• I set "Action to do" to Send Email (obvious)

• Condition is "true". What does this mean?

• Sequence is "0". What does this mean?

• As Email I selected the previously created template (obvious).

Step 3 - Create an Automated Action that triggers the Server Action:

• Created a new automated action and gave it a rule name. Now what to set at related document model? Project Issue? 

In the conditions tab: